Special Education

Special education is specially designed instruction, support, and services provided to students with an identified disability requiring an individually designed instructional program to meet their unique learning needs. The purpose of special education is to enable students to successfully develop to their fullest potential by providing a free appropriate public education in compliance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).  Orange High School special educators work collaboratively with general education teachers and share the responsibility for ensuring that students will meet with success. Orange High teachers believe that students can learn when instruction is geared to their strengths and they are given sufficient opportunity to learn.  Orange High School has a variety of Special Education programs (Mild/Moderate, Moderate Severe, Bridges) and courses to ensure that students are meeting their full potential. 

Department Chair

Melissa Irving
English & Math
mirving@orangeusd.org

Teachers

Craig Astor
CoTeach Social Studies
castor@orangeusd.org
Dennis Gerbasi
Math
dgerbasi@orangeusd.org

Brian Lentz
All Subjects
blentz@orangeusd.org

Rob Montelone
English
rmontelone@orangeusd.org

Damian Paez
All Subjects
dpaez@orangeusd.org

Carolyn Still
English
cstill@orangeusd.org

Beth Walton
Math
mwalton@orangeusd.org

Arturo Uriostegui
Math
auriostegui@orangeusd.org

Dana Zimplemann
All Subjects
dzimplemann@orangeusd.org