English Language Arts

The OHS English department is comprised of approximately 20 teachers serving students through English Learner, Special Education, General Education, and Advanced Placement classes on the Orange High campus. Our department is committed to teaching students the importance of literacy, communication skills, and written skills that will serve them in all highs school classes as well as in their lives post-graduation. Students are introduced to complex texts in all grade levels and practice communicating, collaborating, and writing effectively about texts by sharing their opinions and learning to value the opinions of others. As we move forward with our new curriculum adoption of Pearson: MyPerspectives, our department is excited to create a rigorous and exciting environment for all students to learn and grow.

Department Chair

Glenna Buttrey
AP English Literature & English 10  
gbuttrey@orangeusd.org 

Teachers

Stephanie Brady-Haley
English 9 & ERWC
sbrady-haley@orangeusd.org

Matt Earley
English 10, 11 & Core EL Support
mearley@orangeusd.org

Melissa Irving
English 11 & 12
mirving@orangeusd.org

Lindsey Jones
English 10 & 10H
ljones@orangeusd.org

Kami Kenyon
ELD, English 11 & 12
kkenyon@orangeusd.org

Dani Kraft
English 12
dkraft@orangeusd.org

Jeff Lake
English 9 & 11
jlake@orangeusd.org

Braden Parker
English 10
bparker@orangeusd.org

Rachael Rivas
English 9 & 10
rrivas@orangeusd.org

Arsanios Salamah
English 9, 10 & 11
asalamah@orangeusd.org

Carolyn Still
English 9, 10 11 & Reading
cstill@orangeusd.org

Yasmin Vali
English 10, Core EL Support
yvali@orangeusd.org

Alex Vicario
English 9, ELD
avicario@orangeusd.org

Jennifer Visconti
English 9H, 11 & 12
jvisconti@orangeusd.org

Laurie Wielenga
AP English Lang, English 11
lwielenga@orangeusd.org